Cape Peninsula University of Technology Cape Town


Cape Peninsula University of Technology Cape Town


Cape Peninsula University of Technology Cape Town, The Cape Peninsula University of Technology (CPUT) was established in 2005 when the Cape Technikon and Peninsula Tecknikon merged. This merger formed part of a national transformation process that aimed to transform the higher education landscape in South Africa. In 2008, Dr. Trevor Manual was elected as the first Chancellor of the University.


CPUT is the largest university of technology in the Western Cape and majority a practically orientated university. CPUT has five campuses and four service points, which are located across the Cape Peninsula. CPUT is an internationally acclaimed institution and has six faculties offering a wide range of accredited undergraduate and postgraduate courses in the fields of Applied Sciences, Business, Education and Social Sciences, Engineering, Informatics and Design as well as Health and Wellness Sciences. Despite its highly accredited academic programmes.

Although CPUT is internationally recognised and does have an international program, there are not many foreigners who join CPUT as they usually attend the higher universities such as UCT or Stellenbosch.

CPUT’s campuses:

  • Bellville Campus, Bellville
  • Cape Town Campus, Cape Town
  • Mowbray Campus, Mowbray
  • Granger Bay Campus, housing the Cape Town Hotel School and Survival Centre
  • Wellington Campus